(Close Window) Topic: Scam?
Message: Posted by: Bill Nuvo (Apr 2, 2012 9:15am)
Anybody else get this. It appears to be a scam (i.e. not informing of what the event is or even what they want, 5 days for 6 guests...lol)

"Hi,

I am Dr Quimby Michael.and will be delighted to book for a group of 6 guests. Could please check your availability calender and inform me as when you have availability for 5 consecutive days from July 25 th 2012 We will like to book for five (5) consecutive days for 6 guests. Kindly note that we are flexible on our dates and do inform us when you will have availability.Also our mode of payment is 100% pre-payment via visa/master credit card.I shall be waiting for your prompt response.

Kind Regards.
Dr Quimby Michael."
Message: Posted by: Mindpro (Apr 2, 2012 9:27am)
Smells like a scam to me too.
Message: Posted by: RJE2 (Apr 2, 2012 10:02am)
Definitely looks like the "overpayment" scam.

They pay you in advance, but it is thousands of dollars more than you asked for. They ask you to reimburse the difference and keep what they owe you, plus keep a bonus for the trouble they put you through. Skip forward a few weeks and their original payment "bounces" but your reimbursement payment is gone and you are out the money.
Message: Posted by: Al Angello (Apr 2, 2012 11:29am)
Wow 5 days and 6 guests it sounds to me that Dr Quimby Michael is looking for a hooker.
Message: Posted by: RJE2 (Apr 2, 2012 11:50am)
HEHEHE!!!!!

Well, what do ya know. I just got the EXACT same e mail from the good doctor! Cheeky!

Beware folks. One more scam to avoid.
Message: Posted by: Bill Nuvo (Apr 2, 2012 10:17pm)
That's what I thought Al lol
Message: Posted by: Howie Diddot (Apr 16, 2012 2:50am)
See Bill, you didn't answer fast enough, so the good Doctor went to RJE2
Message: Posted by: Bill Nuvo (Apr 16, 2012 5:34pm)
Oh darn! Gotta act faster I guess and not be so skeptical....hmmmm let's try some homeopathy now too lol!
Message: Posted by: ThatsJustWrong! (Apr 16, 2012 7:24pm)
I;m Guest #4, woot! Can't wait to meet you guys!!!
Message: Posted by: Dannydoyle (Apr 17, 2012 5:45pm)
I am always amazed at this sort of thing until I consider it in light of the following. It must work or they would not still be doing it!

Think about that. There must be enough people who fall for this stuff.
Message: Posted by: Blair Marshall (Apr 17, 2012 6:51pm)
WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!????????????????

You mean it's NOT real!!!!!


Ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! There goes my end of July bookings!

B
Message: Posted by: Bill Nuvo (Apr 18, 2012 4:20pm)
Very True Danny
Message: Posted by: KeirRoyale (Apr 20, 2012 12:35am)
No Bill, this is legit. Send me $29.95 to the Downtown Denver Western Union office located between the check cashing place and the plasma donation center and I will make sure that Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman (woops, did I misspell his name?) gets the final over payment to you.

I will most anxiously await your splendid reply most indubiously...

Keir

PS - It now appears that there will be 7 fine chaps at the show in question, can you provide a sound system for an extra fee?
Message: Posted by: MikeRaffone (Apr 21, 2012 7:02am)
I received one like this with a lot of "red flags" in it. (nailtek2006@yahoo.com) Instead of wasting time with it, I simply copied and pasted their email address in google search and found others received the same scam email. Other magicians later told me they received inquiries from this same email address. Awefully tempting to play along with them and not let them know you are on to them :)

Mike
Message: Posted by: Mike Maturen (Apr 21, 2012 10:23am)
This very topic was discussed quite some time ago here on the Café. It appears to be the new version of the "Nigerian Letter" rip-off, but now targeted at performers.

And YES, these rip-offs DO work. Our county treasurer got caught up in the Nigerian scandal...and lost over a Million dollars. He is now in prison for misuse of government funds. He wasn't trying to rip-off the county though...he also lost tens of thousands of his own money. He genuinely got sucked in by the scam.
Message: Posted by: MikeRaffone (Apr 22, 2012 8:57am)
The one I mentioned doesn't involve money transfer, their aim is to waste the entertainer's valuable time going back and forth on email.
Message: Posted by: Dynamike (Apr 24, 2012 11:15pm)
Sounds similar to the following: http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewtopic.php?topic=436746&forum=44
Message: Posted by: KeirRoyale (Apr 29, 2012 12:43pm)
This one is making the rounds too, I googled the email text and it's being sent to a lot of speakers. This one is better written than most but is still pretty obvious to me that it's flakey at best after just glancing at it. Seems they want you to Western Union payment for a UK work visa for starters. ANYTHING involving Western Union payments is a scam in my opinion. It's the biggest red flag of them all. The ministers at the church who's identity the scammers are using in the email below it seems are inundated with speakers etc contacting them to verify speaking dates/info. etc. So much so that they have info on their website that they are not hosting a conference nor hiring speakers.

********

Blessings to you from Thornton Heath Evangelical Church, I am Elder Peter Dunn, presiding Minister of Thornton Heath Evangelical Church, Surrey, United Kingdom. We are pleased to inform you that we would like to engage you for a speaking event here in Surrey at the Church conference coming up on the 23rd, 24th & 25th of June 2012. The conference is tagged: 'Big things: How to start small'.

Please we would like you to convey to us your availability for one of the dates as it can fit in your schedule.
Also, please we would as well appreciate if you get back in-touch with us in ample time so we can start corresponding the details.
Thank you and expecting to hear from you soon.

Remain Blessed.

--
Elder Peter Dunn
+44 7031873786

Thornton Heath Evangelical Church
Road (A23)
Malvern Road in Thornton Heath,
Croydon,
Surrey, CR7 7LH
United Kingdom
http://www.the-church.org.uk/
Message: Posted by: Dannydoyle (Apr 29, 2012 1:21pm)
Well if it is from a church...
Message: Posted by: Decomposed (Apr 29, 2012 8:01pm)
Who really uses Western Union anymore.