The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » The next step with my doves (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Dabek
View Profile
Regular user
United Kingdom
142 Posts

Profile of Dabek
Hi,

I am hoping David will see this message (he usually does) as all of his advice is great.

My doves are fairly new. They are tame and and are used in a dove pan. But I want to use them in my stage act (manip).

What is the next step to take with training them for pockets, etc.?

Also, is there a good way to stop them from messing so much when they are set up and once they have appeared?

What is a safe time to stop feeding them before a show?

Magical regards,

Paul Dabek
Doveman
View Profile
New user
55 Posts

Profile of Doveman
Paul,

I have been performing with doves for over 5 years now.

The way I trained them in holders or pockets is to simply put them in them to get used to the feel. You could place them in the holder and put the bird on a counter for 15 to 20 minutes. The bird will try to get out at first, because its not used to it.

I used General Grant's one hand release because of the simplicity of it. I no longer use a holder for my productions. I use invisible dove harnesses for my productions.

As far as when to feed the birds? I feed my birds late at night and I take the food out in the morning. I do this for two reasons: #1 - The birds will have all night to do their duty before the show; and #2 - I perform in the evening and the birds are hungry after the show. I never let the birds eat all day long. They also could become overweight and they will respect you more if you have them on a schedule.

Hope this helps. Good luck! Smile
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
4854 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner