The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Questions from a non-mentalist. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Kuis
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of Kuis
Hello all,

I'm a student and need to write an article about mentalism and mentalists. I don't have much knowledge about this subject. I have the possibility to look some things up with google, but I would like to learn more out of "first hand" and hope I'm in the right place here. I wrote down a couple of questions and hope some of you are willing to help me out. Excuse for my poor English, but it's not my first language. Maybe these are stupid questions, but I hope not Smile Thanks in advance!

1) Can you give me a detailed description of what mentalism really is. I've read some different things about what is considered mentalism and what not.

2) Do you/mentalists consider mentalism as some sort of way of life/lifestyle? Is is the central point of your life or is it more of work/hobby kind of thing?

If it is indeed a way of life or lifestyle, can you give me a description how it affects your "normal life", other things and people in your life.

3) In what ways can mentalism be used? Is it just a form of entertainment or has it more purpopes/ can it be used in other ways than that?

4) Can anyone, with enough practice, become a mentalist or are some special talents/ powers a must? In other words, are you born a mentalist or do you become one?

5) In my country they aired a show to find "the new Uri Geller". As a result of that mentalism is some sort of a hype, or at least more popular than it was before. Do you think this benefits mentalism/ the reputation of mentalism in a positive way or do you think it has a negative effect?

6)Maybe this is a stupid question, but what are the positives and what are the negatives about being a mentalist if you compare it to other people, people who are not mentalists?