The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Looking for close-up tricks where I don't need a table (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

ecno
View Profile
New user
51 Posts

Profile of ecno
I'm a beginner and I need some help

What tricks are there available?
Card Warp, The Ambitous Card, 2 Card Monte, are there any other (card) tricks where it's not necessary to use a table?

Thank you.

Smile
Danny Hustle
View Profile
Inner circle
Boston, MA USA
2393 Posts

Profile of Danny Hustle
Hi Ecno,

There are MANY tricks that are AWESOME on the street that require no table.

I often work Harvard Square here in Cambridge at lunch time working only from my pockets.

More importantly, when working this way, is ditching and reset. You want things that can go right back to where they were before you started, ready to go again.

Now I am going by the assumption that you want to do "real" street magic a.k.a... busking. If you want to do David Blaine stuff, just make a quick trip to the magic shop and go nuts. But, if you are looking for the real deal, here it is.

The challange is:

You will need 10 minutes of material. This can be done with 3 good routines. Working right from the pockets without amplification and automatically resetting back to the pockets at the end of the trick. You will also need to be able to work surrounded.

My picks are:

Show 1:
Vanishing silk with TT.

Three rope routine (Professor's night/day/whatever, George Sands, or a combo like Daryl's or Three Ropes and a baby)

Insurance policy

Show 2:

Cigarette manipulation (If you do not smoke use puff cigarettes and do a smoking=bad routine. People LOVE seeing this, don't discount it)

Coins across

Misers dream into your hat (If you work the street you have to have a hat. It's the rules) Smile

Show 3:

Flip stick routine with a Kennedy folding wand.