The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Brian Brushwood's new book test (45 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2~3..11..19..27..35..39~40~41
Papa Legba
View Profile
Special user
home-an unremarkable spiral arm of an insignificant galaxy
750 Posts

Profile of Papa Legba
Quote:
On Jun 27, 2018, Rik Gazelle wrote:
Well, just picking a random book off the shelf and "The Satanic Verses" by Salmon Rushdie is one such book Smile

Seriously, many books I have (including "The Satanic Verses") contain similar clauses limiting resale under different bindings or covers. I am not a legal expert but if you repackaged a book (especially if you included additional materials such as instructions etc) then that could constitute a new cover or binding in a strictly legal sense. Personally I think that you would be on a sticky wicket.

I am not saying that my interpretation is correct or that yours is wrong but I do think it is a lot more complex than being able to buy something and then doing what ever you want with it.

I understand Rik, this is a discussion form, exchanging views, and disagreeing, is part of what the Café is about.

I know the clause you are referring to. Here is the one from my girlfriend's current book "Pretending to Dance" by Diane Chamberlain, published in 2015
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This book is sold to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise be lent, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form of binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Thus, re-packaging is clearly a no no, but I see nothing there to prevent re-purposing the book.