The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Table Design (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MRSharpe
View Profile
Special user
Never a dull moment with
940 Posts

Profile of MRSharpe
I'm working on a table design that is similar to a TV tray where the legs and top fold up into a flat, compact unit. I know there are commercial tables like this available, but I'm a woodworker and want to develop my own design. Right now I'm working on a second prototype in pine and plywood before making the final version in cherry hardwood. I've hit a snag and was wondering if there is such a design already out there in drawing form that may have solved this problem. Any suggestions?
Custom Props Designer and Fabricator as well as Performer from Indiana, USA
TheRaven
View Profile
Special user
597 Posts

Profile of TheRaven
Not that I am aware of. Don't know if you might get some ideas from waiter tray stands that use a similar principle.
MRSharpe
View Profile
Special user
Never a dull moment with
940 Posts

Profile of MRSharpe
I'm beginning my third prototype this next week, if it warms up some that is. The waiter table (AKA 'bus jack') isn't really what I'm after. My design is kind of like a pair of scissors with a top connected by pivot points in a frame at the points, the handles being the feet ends of the legs. I hope that visualization works. Thanks for the tip though.
Christian Wilde
View Profile
New user
90 Posts

Profile of Christian Wilde
Sounds like an interesting project. Would you consider posting some pics? 😊
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22797 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli