The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Right or Wrong? » » Crediting Sources when Providing Instruction (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Habanero
View Profile
New user
17 Posts

Profile of Habanero
I am still very new to magic, although I have put together a quality collection of hardcopy books, .pdf's, DVD, downloads, tricks, and props so far.

I have spent too many years in school over the years, and currently the program chair of both a masters and doctoral academic / training program. My professional field takes the crediting of sources seriously, and it is entirely unethical to publish ideas founded upon pre-existing content without properly citing and referencing the source.

Citing is where you connect an idea to a source, and referencing is where you provide your audience with the information necessary for them to find the source.

I have seen some excellent examples in the magic content which I own where the magician has cited a source, and gives full credit to the originator. I only have a couple of examples where a magician has referenced a citation.

Unfortunately, I have been surprised at how many times someone will teach something without giving proper credit, especially with the citation. On one DVD I have, the magician has called a product by their last name, and make no mention of being influenced by previous sources. I really though they came up with their own stuff. Then, I purchase another DVD on the same type of trick, only to learn that a majority of that content was founded upon the same principles. The 2nd DVD does cite a source for the technique from where they learned how they do the trick, but upon further investigation, the cited source is not completely original either.