The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » What's happened in the last 10 years? (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

BruMagic
View Profile
New user
19 Posts

Profile of BruMagic
Hi everyone,

I worked as a professional mentalist, between 1999 - 2008. Before that, I'd just do the odd gig here or there.

Then, for one reason or another, I stopped and got a normal job instead.

I've not really been part of the magic world since about 2008. I'm vaugely playing with the idea of starting up again.

I'd really like to know what decent new mentalist principals / ideas have been out in the last 10 years of so. For example, I really like the look of the 100th Monkey Principal.

I appreciate that this is a very subjective question. I suppose another way of phrasing it would be, what are your top ten favourite mind reading / psychological effects of the last decade?

Cheers!
Philemon Vanderbeck
View Profile
Inner circle
Seattle, WA
4698 Posts

Profile of Philemon Vanderbeck
Aside from technology making certain old ideas possible with smaller and more convenient equipment, there's really nothing new under the sun.

I would also say that there are some psychological developments that help to enhance effects.

But typically whenever someone claims that they've created something "new," they've simply reinvented an old idea and didn't do the proper research (or knowingly plagiarized).
Professor Philemon Vanderbeck
That Creepy Magician
"I use my sixth sense to create the illusion of possessing the other five."
BruMagic
View Profile
New user
19 Posts

Profile of BruMagic
Fair point. I'm aware that there's rarely anything new under the sun.

I suppose I could have just asked:

What have been the ten most well-received releases, to the mentalism community, within the last ten years?
IAIN
View Profile
Eternal Order
england
18807 Posts

Profile of IAIN
That's a huge ask though...