The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hello from Dallas (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

servant
View Profile
Regular user
Texas
101 Posts

Profile of servant
So I'm a little late introducing myself. Over the years I've visited the Magic Café off and on, to satisfy my curiosity regarding certain effects. I finally joined a few years ago.

After joining, I made a few posts but mostly lingered here and there.

I was a magician in my early teens. I performed at birthday parties, church events, fairs, retirement homes, etc.

Unfortunately, around the age of 16, we moved. I lost all my clients and all the great referrals. I remember doing 2 shows after we moved. I did a birthday party and a community event. I just never got back into the swing of things. After I graduated, my props had already collected a lot of dust.

Fast forward 18 years, and I really want to get started again. Things are more difficult time-wise, as I have two kids and a wife to attend to. However, impressing my 4-year-old son is so much fun. Although he is quite the intelligent little rascal and loves to search all around me when a coin disappears.

Wish I would have had a mentor way back when, who would have encouraged me to keep going, to rebuild my client base.

Hope it isn't too late to start doing shows again. I've recently invested in a couple props that needed replacing. I purchased a metal Lota Vase (huge upgrade from the cheap one I used back then). My favorite running gag was that my magic props had a mind of their own. The Chinese Sticks refused to cooperate with my instructions (Step 1: Make sure both cords are of equal length). I needed a dry, empty vase for an illusion, but every time I reached for it, it had more water in it.

Well, this was longer than I originally intended. Hope someone out there finds my story.
Mary Mowder
View Profile
Inner circle
Sacramento / Elk Grove, CA
3662 Posts