The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Knots and loops » » rope routine for the table hopper (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
VernonOnCoins
View Profile
Inner circle
NYC
1979 Posts

Profile of VernonOnCoins
looking for something strong that resets and doesn't use lots of pocket space, ie. professors nightmare. Any suggestions?
Peter Marucci
View Profile
Inner circle
5389 Posts

Profile of Peter Marucci
Why not the Professor's Nightmare, with suitable (for you, and the venue) story line?

I've been doing it as a table-hopping piece for about 10 years now; the theme is my mythical Uncle Linguini and why he isn't here tonight.

Failing that, check out George Sands' Sandsational, or part of it.

I use just the cut and restored section (twice) and it is a killer!

cheers,

Peter Marucci

showtimecol@aol.com
Matt
View Profile
New user
41 Posts

Profile of Matt
I’m working on what to say when I do this one, and have come upon this question. When you do the prof’s nightmare, as far as the effect goes, do you just show the ropes, stretch ’em, show ’em again, restore ’em and then show ’em a third time? That just seems really quick to me, which may not be a bad thing. Just wondering how people perform this one, as I haven’t ever seen it performed. Thanks.

Matt
Peter Marucci
View Profile
Inner circle
5389 Posts

Profile of Peter Marucci
That's right, Matt.

I show the ropes, fold them and stretch them, show them each the same size; fold them again, and then show them as different sizes, as in the beginning.

But that doesn't really mean much.

What's important is what happens in between:

The patter, the bits, the asides.

And it's taken me 10 years to build it up to where it is today.

If necessary, it can run 30 seconds or 5 minutes, or anything in between (although 5 minutes can seem like forever when you are performing -- and even longer if you are watching! Smile )