The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Time after time » » Practicing in front of a mirror vs. video recorder (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
scottds80
View Profile
Special user
Victoria, Australia
730 Posts

Profile of scottds80
In my practicing and rehearsing, I've learned a few self taught lessons on the subject on how to review yourself.

I have been practicing both in front of a mirror and a video recorder. There are pro's & cons for both. In the end, I recommend using both, but a video recorder MORE.

Mirror:
Pros
- easy to visually check your moves AS THEY HAPPEN. You can catch yourself red handed and FEEL where the problem is coming from immediately.

Cons
- You may get too used to practicing this way, and you will begin to rely on the reflection of yourself to feel your next move. Believe me, when I eventually got a video recorder, I felt awkward because I couldn't see what I was doing as I relied on my reflection too much.

Video recorder:
Pros:
- You get to see exactly what your audience would see. Mirrors are different.
- You can practice your misdirection then see if it works as you watch yourself later (pretend you are a layman)
- You can sit down, relax and watch where the problems (flashes, angles) are coming from over and over again.

Cons:
- Good video cameras are expensive. Obviously it will cost you plenty of money if you don't already have a recorder. But it's well worth it. You want a good quality recorder to check your subtle moves, and plug it into a television as large as possible.
"Great Scott the Magician", Gippsland
8ofdiamonds
View Profile
New user
6 Posts

Profile of 8ofdiamonds