The Magic Café Forum Index [ F.A.Q. ]
[ Magic Café Donations ]
Username:
Password:
 
  
  [ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Be careful ordering from SuperMagnetMan Printer Friendly Version
Neil

Elite user

479 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 5:38am    Reply with quote   View Profile of Neil  

I recently ordered a PK magnet from SuperMagnetMan.net. After completing the purchase I received an email claiming to be from them taking me to a fake Verified by Visa page trying to get ALL my credit card details. Since I'd used Paypal it was obviously fake. And the details it wanted were way too detailed. But the question remains how that email got to me, using my correct name and knew that I'd ordered from SuperMagnetMan's website minutes before. I think there must be a leak from that site.
mastermindreader

V.I.P.
Seattle, WA
6065 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 5:47am    mastermindreader is on-line  Reply with quote   View Profile of mastermindreader  

See:

http://www.internetretailer.com/2005/01/06/verified-by-visa-security-program-used-as-bait-in-phishing-scams
C.J.

Special user
There's a lotta rambling in my
759 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 6:35am    Reply with quote   View Profile of C.J.  

I've never had a problem with ordering from that site, and have always found George (the owner and manufacturer) to be amazingly helpful and communicative. I would advise letting him know what's happened - but do it POLITELY. He will almost certainly be on your side and take steps to check his ordering system for errors or leaks.

Connor Jacobs - The Thought Scupltor

Mundus vult decipi, ergo decipiatur
Be fondly remembered.
Neil

Elite user

479 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 6:45am    Reply with quote   View Profile of Neil  

I have already.
BenSalinas

Special user
Coinoscenti
608 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 11:23am    Reply with quote   View Profile of BenSalinas  

I have ordered from George many times as well and have never had this issue. I'm sure it's not coming from him, at least, not intentionally.

Your Friendly Neighborhood Coin Flinger

www.SalinasMagic.com

http://www.FaceBook.com/BenSalinas

The Coin Magic Page! http://salinasmagic.blogspot.com/
mindhunter

Inner circle
Upstate NY
1664 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 11:33am    Reply with quote   View Profile of mindhunter  

Well, something ATTRACTED them to your acount....

(attract....magnets...get it? aww, nevermind!)

Kidding aside, I work in law enforcement and we recieve more andmore complaints about these scams everyday. The unfortunate thing is that there is very little we can do for them.

Bryn

THE LOGAR SCROLLS eBook is now available.
Price is $45.
Available at Outlaw Effects:
http://www.outlaw-effects.com/store/the-arsenal/e-books/the-logar-scrolls.html
Or PayPal me at: cavscout19@hotmail.com
Contact me for LOGAR & SAFWAN PAPERS Combo Deal
Slim King

Eternal Order
Orlando
13002 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 11:37am    Reply with quote   View Profile of Slim King  

Since our email information is becoming easier to obtain all they have to do is look at your last email and shoot you the scam email if it looks like a purchase. Thanks for the heads up!!!!

THE MAN THE SKEPTICS REFUSE TO TEST FOR ONE MILLION DOLLARS
Neil

Elite user

479 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 12:47pm    Reply with quote   View Profile of Neil  

I think it's possible the site has been hacked and is leaking order info. I got the mail directly after ordering. I'd not visited any other sites. They knew my name and that I'd placed an order with them. I filled in dummy info and it took me back to site. So they are connected. It's not really that easy to intercept targeted email and have a website's scripts return to to the relevant site.

I'm sure it's not anything to do with the site owner or anything but I think the site's ordering process has been compromised.
Slim King

Eternal Order
Orlando
13002 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 12:57pm    Reply with quote   View Profile of Slim King  

That's a shame! Looks like the BAD GUYS are starting to control the internet.

THE MAN THE SKEPTICS REFUSE TO TEST FOR ONE MILLION DOLLARS
Ray Bertrand

Special user

674 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 1:31pm    Reply with quote   View Profile of Ray Bertrand  

Quote:

On 2012-05-10 05:47, mastermindreader wrote:
See:

http://www.internetretailer.com/2005/01/06/verified-by-visa-security-program-used-as-bait-in-phishing-scams



Great information Bob. Thank you for the link.

Ray
Dove84

Regular user

180 Posts
Posted: May 10, 2012 2:31pm    Reply with quote   View Profile of Dove84  

I believe I have ordered from them before no problem but maybe they have been compromised. Thank you for sharing the info.
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Be careful ordering from SuperMagnetMan
<<< Previous Topic Top of Page Next Topic >>>

POST A REPLY
About Posting: Only Registered users can post replies in this forum
Username:
Password:
I forgot my password!
Message:

Options: Disable BBcode on this Post
Disable Smilies on this Post
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Be careful ordering from SuperMagnetMan

[ Top of Page ]

All content & postings Copyright © 2001- 2013 Steve Brooks. All Rights Reserved.
This page was created in 0.687585 seconds, requiring 9 database queries.

The views and comments expressed on The Magic Café
are not necessarily those of The Magic Café, Steve Brooks, or Steve Brooks Magic.