The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Showmanship (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Otto D
View Profile
New user
London, UK
24 Posts

Profile of Otto D
Hi, I was recently just watching magic performances on YouTube and I found some really good videos on showmanship and how to present magic and yourself as a magician. The three videos covered having authority as a magician, choosing the right spectator and an analysis on a close up magic performance. The channel also have some good tips on how to hold cards and elegance which as a beginner I found really useful. Here is the link to one of the videos:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYcnA06-yVg You should be able to find the rest from there. Also I found a really good short ebook on misdirection which has given me some things to think about and change about my performance. http://info.magicshop.co.uk/understandin......ee-ebook I hope these resources help any newbies like me.
Otto
Mike Gilbert
View Profile
Veteran user
Las Vegas, Nevada
376 Posts

Profile of Mike Gilbert
Hi Otto!

You may also want to check out Maximum Entertainment by Ken Weber.
http://www.penguinmagic.com/p/1258
This book will help take you that extra mile in maximizing your performance and upping your game.
Welcome aboard, and best of luck!
-Mike Gilbert Smile

"Most of us have two lives. The life we live, and the unlived life within us. Between the two stands Resistance."- Steven Pressfield
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Did you write your letter to Father Christmas yet?

I don't remember if I suggested Ken Weber's book when I posted last month.

O
SNEAKY, UNDERHANDED, DEVIOUS,& SURREPTITIOUS ITINERANT MOUNTEBANK
charliemartin
View Profile
Special user
Rapid City, SD
779 Posts

Profile of charliemartin
Ken Weber's book is a must and would add Jeff McBride's The Show Doctor too.
EndersGame
View Profile
Inner circle