The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Magic...at a moment's notice! » » Performing for friends and family is WEIRD. (20 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
Latig0
View Profile
New user
63 Posts

Profile of Latig0
Do you guys also feel weird when performing for friends and/or family? I find it almost disgusting.
Been performing professionaly for many, many years now. I have a lot of years of experience but still, when there's people I know in the audience, I usually feel weird, hurry up and sometimes even !@#$ it up.
I once heard that Al Pacino did not like when performing at a theatre and he knew relatives were in the audience. Also heard that Larry David never invited anyone to his stand-up shows. He was not comfortable at all knowing friends where watching.
Last night it happened again, I was asked to do tricks after the NYE dinner, I was a bit drunk and did a show that had good moments but basically sucked. I even made a couple of obvious mistakes, for christ's sake.

How do you guys feel about peforming for non-strangers?
mndude
View Profile
Special user
880 Posts

Profile of mndude
I've found that no matter how amazing of an illusion you perform, family members are never amazed. They can never think of you as someone who might actually possess a little of real magic.
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle
old things in new ways - new things in old ways
9988 Posts

Profile of funsway
Years ago when I performed a half-hour magic routine after my sister's wedding reception dinner,

she insisted on introducing me as someone else. She liked the show but didn't want her image tainted by having a magician in the family.
"the more one pretends at magic, the more awe and wonder will be found in real life." Arnold Furst

eBooks at https://www.lybrary.com/ken-muller-m-579928.html questions at ken@eversway.com
Anand Khalsa
View Profile
Loyal user
Phoenix, AZ
201 Posts