The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Making Silks (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
HenryleTregetour
View Profile
Regular user
184 Posts

Profile of HenryleTregetour
Hi All,

I am thinking of making my own silks. Has anyone done this? (Yes, buying them would be a lot easier.)

What kind of fabric would work best? My impression of silks for sale is they are some sort of polyester blend. Has anyone tried using actual silk?

I have been sewing by hand for 30 years, so that is not an issue.

Thanks,

HLT
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Oh Henry! (not the candy bar! YOU!)

Silks are SILK! From long experience, SILK is best for any use in which the "silk" must be compressed for van. or prod. China & Japan SILK has been used for years. I have RICE PICTURE SILKS (Dragon, 6' and 36") & Clown, for example which are years old, and, still look just fine! When I occasionally use a Merv Taylor Tambourine, or a P&L Phantom Tube (Ade Duval routine) I use 24" solid color SILKS, with a 6' Dragon, in the Tambor, or a string of 12" solids tied together, and a 6' Dragon.

For some knot tricks, such as the "disappearing square knot" (Scot's "Discovery") now called the "Slydini Knots" by the young guys, or for the Sympathetic Silks, Nylon, or some polyesters, will stand the pressure and twisting better. I use a combination of SILK (rainbow) and, polyester for the 20th Century Silks. For Serpentine and, or Silk Thru Mike, I use SILK. (It depends on how they're being used.)

For tricks like Dante's "Lazy Magician", I use polys, but, silks could be used, as the knots don't need to be tied tightly.

Bob Sanders imports the best SILK from the Orient. Richard Hughes also sells top quality SILK. Both of them hem silks. They can provide silks with a narrow flat hem. Abbott's also has good solid colors, and tie dyes.