The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Fake Gig Leads on GigSalad? (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

SeattleSteve
View Profile
Elite user
Seattle, WA
455 Posts

Profile of SeattleSteve
I'm a relative newbie as a performer so I don't have much experience with getting paid gigs but I have noticed a strange trend this year on GigSalad. I get a few gig requests and when I reply I get no response at all, even when GS says "this lead selected you specifically." Being a rookie performer, I thought it was just me so I asked a very experienced professional mentalist (PEA member) here in the Seattle area and he is getting the exact same gig requests as me in GigSalad and they are not responding to him either. These leads typically have a name but no phone number or email address to contact them. I am starting to suspect that GigSalad may be creating fake gig leads just to keep us paying their membership fee ... like the online dating sites that create fake female profiles to string guys along and keep them paying the monthly membership fees.

Am I just paranoid or has anybody else noticed an increase in the number of non-responsive gig requests on GigSalad?

I get almost no leads from GigMasters, fake or otherwise. This seems to be unique to GigSalad.
JoshLondonMagic
View Profile
Special user
669 Posts

Profile of JoshLondonMagic
Welcome to competing for low paying gigs. This is the biggest problem with these types of sites (and the #1 reason my clients come to me).
SeattleSteve
View Profile
Elite user
Seattle, WA
455 Posts

Profile of SeattleSteve
Josh, do you know if they are creating FAKE leads?

I know that most of the leads on GigSalad and GigMasters are low-paying gigs, but I wonder if many of them are not even REAL gigs.
Mindpro
View Profile
Inner circle
8150 Posts

Profile of Mindpro