The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All in the cards » » Help with an old effect - info needed (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Poof-Daddy
View Profile
Inner circle
Considering Stopping At Exactly
5313 Posts

Profile of Poof-Daddy
I was recently reading an effect in J.K. Hartman's "Card Dodgery" entitled "Jacks and Jills" and I suddenly had a memory of a card effect I used to do (a lot) long before I started learning magic on a serious scale. This was one of about 8 or 10 card tricks I knew and performed (badly) for years as a teen and young adult before my first trip to a magic shop. It was the kind that "Uncle Larry" or some guy at work taught you.

It was pretty much self working. As I recall, a simple dealing effect with only 12 cards. The story (I learned) was 4 business men (kings) were looking for rooms due to a convention in town. The hotel had only 4 rooms and one got each. An hour later, 4 women (queens) in town for a tupperware meeting also needed rooms so the manager had no objection if they shared with the businessmen (as long as they were ok with it) and they certainly were. They got together in each room and decided a card game was in order so the manager found 4 young men from the local college (jacks) and sent one to each room.

The local Vice Cops got wind and raided the place thinking wild acts of hanky panky just had to be going on so they grabbed the master key from the manager who insisted he ran a very christian business and wouldn't even married folks share a room. there was a redeal in the meantime and when the rooms were raided each contained a four of a kind - K's in one Q's in another and J's in the third.