The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Now that’s funny! » » Comedy Magic For Silent Act (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

alexander_may
View Profile
Loyal user
South Africa
296 Posts

Profile of alexander_may
I've been asked to do a magic act (8-10 mins) with one catch, it has to be non-talking with only music playing. I've been doing magic for 20 years but all my material so far have been presented with me talking for the comedy to come across - anybody have any ideas for effects and routines which would work without talking? I know the usual suspects like Multiplying Bottles etc would work, but I am specifically looking at things that might get a laugh as well. TIA!
cbguy
View Profile
Veteran user
350 Posts

Profile of cbguy
Have fun because it's MUCH more difficult than it seems. I have studied mime with a lady who trained with Marcel Marceu. I've taken clown classes where the requirement is that everything we do MUST be performed silent and I have taken Physical comedy classes...and the fact remains, Silent is freaking hard to pull off "GOOD".

Now, with that said, there is a routine that I think may help you, but if you've never done silent comedy, it's a great place to start exploring it's called: Silent Treatment by Jon Allen.

I hope this helps.
alexander_may
View Profile
Loyal user
South Africa
296 Posts

Profile of alexander_may
It definitely is much harder than it sounds!!! There are tons of silent magic, but very little comedy magic.

I own Silent Treatment, it is for sure the opener so far. But from then onwards...
cbguy
View Profile
Veteran user
350 Posts

Profile of cbguy
You will not pull off silent comedy if you don't know how to pull off silent comedy.