The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Ready-to-go mysteries (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
TeddyBoy
View Profile
Special user
New York, NY
595 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
In view of my own difficulty, as a newbie, in memorizing the steps to tricks I have only a couple of tricks at any given time that are ready to perform. As a newbie I am always learning and, with frustration, forgetting tricks and experiments that I previously learned. I know that the learning process never stops, but in contrast to that of a self-possessed newbie working through RRTCM or Card College (like myself) I would expect that the "learning" of an experienced performer takes on a more focused and relaxed level of intensity. Therefore, I became curious as to how many ready-to-perform mysteries/experiments/tricks the members here have in their immediately accessible memory.

If you reply, please indicate your level of experience as I expect seasoned performers have a substantial number of tricks in their heads.

Thanks in advance for your input.
So many sleights...so little time.
"Slow...deliberate...natural." Bill Tarr

Cheers,
Teddy
Signet
View Profile
Loyal user
257 Posts

Profile of Signet
I think when you first start out, you have this desire to learn everything you can. That's fine, but as you get a couple years in, you start to realise, it's better to know a couple tricks really well than many tricks not so good. I should practice what I preach, when it comes to this, but I am understanding lately. A person I respect recently told me you have to practice a trick 100 times before you can say you know it. Can you imagine the discipline that takes?
The_Mediocre_Gatsby
View Profile
Regular user
170 Posts

Profile of The_Mediocre_Gatsby