The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Knots and loops » » Gypsy Thread? (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MontrealMagic
View Profile
Regular user
128 Posts

Profile of MontrealMagic
I hope I am in the right place.....

I am looking to add Gypsy thread to my show, and I have no experience with it. I poked around and found a few online DVDs, but I was wondering if anyone has a suggestion for a good thread (viewable on stage?) as well a suggestion of the "better methods" to learn.

thanks in advance,
J
Harry Murphy
View Profile
Inner circle
Maryland
5445 Posts

Profile of Harry Murphy
Two recommendations come to mind immediately.

First for the really budget conscious. Jeff Hobson has an excellent streaming video of his handling of the Gypsy Thread. The video gives all the details one could want including the source for a very visible,THICK appearing, super easy to break, and inexpensive thread. It will probably be the best $5.00 you'll ever spend. You'll have to find the yarn buy it (less than a minute online and less than $10.00)) , do a little Arts and crafts (maybe a minute or three), AND you will have to develop your own routine for performing the routine.

Found at:http://www.hobsonschoicemagic.com