(Close Window)
Topic: Stuck Up Mentalists
Hey Guys, I've been doing magic for 3 years, have just been doing pure mentalism for only one year so far. I love mentalism much more, one thing I have noticed though. Most magicians seem friendly, willing to help, and very nice people. But a LOT of mentalists I have met or talked to seem to have a very arrogant, stuck up, I'm better than you attitude. That’s actually one of the reasons it took me so long to find out how great mentalism was, because I was so turned off by the attitudes of some mentalists. I sometimes miss that warm brotherly feeling magicians seem to have, when I converse with other mentalists, I get a cold feeling. Like I have to prove myself before they will even consider helping. Why is that? Also there seems to be so much more tension and conflict in this forum than the others. Basically I guess I'm just saying, cant we all just get along? Respect each other’s differences and opinions? And most importantly help each other out to further our loved art?
This may be because there are technically (read that again before arguing!...Technically) less moves etc. in mentalism and it would be easier for you to catch up to their level of performance. (They are scared of you taking their work).

I have a lot of Mental friends that are always willing to help though.
This may be because my main interest is in the Magic side of our profession.

In Magic
Steve Dela
Hi ya,NightBringer...read some of the answers I got on my "Are you a Mentalist or what" posting...there you will find some of whom you speak of...the "I've been doing this for 5 years and me and my act walk on water" bunch. Don't let it bother you, brother.

You are you and just the fact that you notice they are out there means you aren't one of them. Personally, I don't hang out with anyone in the business, don't belong to any clubs or groups and don't go to conventions, it was advice given to me by a very wise person.

~Rick~