(Close Window)
Topic: How long/often
Since I'm new at this how long should I practice a basic sleight/ card control move-I practice and when I think I got it it ends up flopping like poop outta a horse when someone watches me! Any suggestions?
When you can do the "move" without thinking about it, then will you have reached enlightenment and harmony Grasshopper!

Cheers! ;)
Ah! Sifu (teacher) Stanyon is testing you, young Grasshopper! I am sure he meant for you to understand the following...

When you can do the move AND the presentation without thinking about it, THEN you have achieved enlightenment and harmony, Grasshopper!

;)

Lee "Master of Pun-Fu" Darrow, C.H.
AM NOT!!! :nana:

Cheers! ;)
I practice many times over until the patter, presentation, and sleights are very natural. Then I will present them to two family members who have the 'job' of trying to catch how I do the effect. If neither of them can figure out what I have done, then I consider myself ready to try it on some friends, which I will do multiple times before I show it to others.
Experience has taught me that I have always stopped practicing too soon. (I'm in my fifth decade!)

But Stanyon is much, much older! (He invented the stick before the wand!)

Bob
Magic By Sander
Yeah but how do I know I'm at the point to show it to family members? I mean they all have this annoying mentality of "oh here comes another trick". It gets very discouraging it's like they are there to just humour me; it sucks big time. I've been using a video camera and recording myself practicing but I can seem to advance in it any. I dunno I guess I'm just discouraged.
Is it possible for you to join up with any magicians in your area? A local IBM ring, perhaps? They could provide the critical eye you may be searching for, if you do not have any willing family members.

Just a thought.
[quote]
On 2005-04-04 01:10, Bob Sanders wrote:

But Stanyon is much, much older! (He invented the stick before the wand!)

Bob
Magic By Sander