(Close Window)
Topic: Europe 2005
Anyone else doing the Europe Street Festivals this year?

-malini
When and where?

Chase
Well, everywhere really. Big festivals in Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Poland, France, Holland, etc... Across June/July/August.
Not Ireland though...sigh
Steven,

What the hell, man? You have huge music festivals in the west all summer long. People will pay to do something other than sit in an over crowded pub all day. The musicians won't tip, but the spectators sure will.

Mark
Me and a friend will try out Ströget in Coppenhagen this summer. Not much of a festival but anyway.

/Ark
Kieler Woche, biggest sailing turn in the world. I'll be there.
TBH I never really even thought about performing at one of these Mark. I wouldn't even know where to start. I've never done street magic before.
Malini: Is there a centralized list of the times and locations of the Euro fewstival circuit?

You could do all of us a solid here...fill us in, man!
Cheers, Zack, just about to ask the same thing... details are what we need. I have never been to a festival before, and it would be great to try it.

Chase
Well, Steven, now's the time my friend . . . head to Miltown Malbay in mid-June (Willie Clancy week). . . bring your cups and a table and set up right in the middle of town. You'll learn fast. And you'll either love it or hate it. You'll never know til you get out there.

Mark
LOL... but I know nothing about street performing.

Do you do the trick once for a crowd and then pack up?
Do you do the same trick over and over again?
Should you have a good few different tricks that are easily visible (eg. cups and balls, linking rings etc.)?

I really know absolutely nothing about street performing.
Hmmmmm. . . uh. . . okay. . . read Gazzo, Cellini. . . then get out there and do it. Look, I'm still pretty darn new to all of this myself, but you'll never learn if you don't get out there.

Mark

PS So where are you in Ireland. I just got back from a week in Ennis.