(Close Window)
Topic: Range of effectiveness for thumb tips
I am just beginning to work with a TT. I was wondering what range it can be effective in. Can it work close-up, or is a parlour setting as best as you can expect? I understand nobody should ever really see it, but then why would you bother getting it flesh colored then? Is there a good discussion on the application of the TT in some book that I am missing? Actually, I have search the Café and not found anything here either - but maybe I am missing something. Thanks.
I understand that the flesh color of the TT is a relatively recent "improvement". Originally, the TT was made of unpainted metal. Therefore, the original design was such that it could not be used in any manner where it could be seen by the spectator.

By making the TT flesh colored, you can now get away with quick flashes, with the TT being aimed directly at the spectator. Since the TT is pretty much in constant motion, there is some misdirection to allow it to be quickly flashed in a close up setting.

Now, just because something "can" be done, it doesn't mean it "should" be done. Whenever possible, I try to ensure that the TT is completely out of view of the spectator and I only provide the flash when absolutely necessary.

The real trick in effective use of the TT is a natural handling of the hands. Although many spectators don't even know that such a device exists, an unnatural handling can often telegraph that "something" is happening. By creating the suspicion that "something" just happened, you risk destroying the temporary suspension of disbelief.

Hope that helps.

Kent
There are some really good books out there on TTs. I especially like the work of Gary Darwin. He has a lot of resources available to magicians on this subject.
You may also want to find and study the TT video by Salvano. He handles the thing so that it is invisible to spectators but is used in many, many ways. Good luck.