(Close Window)
Topic: Help Needed With Peanut Butter & Jelly
Hey Guys,

I use the great Peanut Butter & Jelly in my kid's show and it gets great reactions. I have been doing it with the same set for about 2 years now. The problem lies in the soft plastic "covers." They are getting "tacky" and are beginning to stick to each other. If you own the trixk, you will know that it is important that the lids and the gimmicks slide upon each other smoothly. I have actually had a reveal occur at a show a few weeks back because of this darn stickiness.

So what can I use to "powder" or make this soft plastic more dry or smooth? I know doll collectors use baking powder on the flesh of dolls to keep them plyable, but I do not know if this is good for the plastic of this trick. It seems this plastic is very sensitive to liquid cleaners. PB&J is a bit too expensive to buy it new every time the plastic gets tacky.

Please let me know how I can get this great trick back to its "new" condition.

Professor Fineous
This is sheer guesswork on my part, but you MIGHT try dusting the insides of the covers with baby powder. Let it set overnight, then gently brush out the excess.

Again, this is off the top of my head--I've not done it.

Good luck!
I use the auto cleaner Armor-All.
I also use the auto cleaner Armor-All. (Oily is better than sticky.)

Bob Sanders
Magic By Sander
I have used baby powder on my covers, and it worked pretty well. But I do like the Armor-All idea very much. I am going to try that out!
Depending upon when you bought your P,B & J (hopefully you have the original Tim Wenk/Metimpirical Magic version and not a knockoff), one of my instruction sheets tell you some very detailed hints about how to and NOT to store and transport the covers. My later instructions don't have these comments. My first set suffered from "shrinkage" in the covers for some reason (I got 'em used), but my latest set is holding up fine. I'd try the Armor-All.

Steve
Professor Fineous: