(Close Window)
Topic: New New Yorker
Hey folks. Two weeks ago I took a plunge and am now trying to take my life in an upward direction, and have moved to New York.

I graduated from the North Carolina School of the Arts, School of Filmmaking with a BFA in Filmmaking in June. My primary studies at NCSA were in screenwriting and film sound.

I've been pounding the pavement here in NY, and have a few interesting leads, but I thought I'd put this out into cyberspace and see if any of you fellow Café dwellers had any insight.

So, if anyone knows of any leads or opportunities in an area of film, television, or radio, please don't hesistate to contact me.

Thanks!

Kevin
If I was in New York area, I would work at TROMA!!!! They don't pay anything, but you do get treated badly - good luck.
Film? Aren't you on the wrong coast? :)
Hey, they have McDonalds on both coast in need of managers.
Steve V
I love NEW YORK!!! Join the IFP... get the local trade papers and check out people doing projects... try to get involved in as many student and low budget projects as possible... network, network, network... and enjoy the fabulous pizza!!!

Greg
Kevin,
Currently between 86th street and 110th (BETWEEN AMSTERDAM AND bROADWAY)they are currently filming Law and Order and CSI. They have a lot of crew people just hanging around the area who love to talk to people during their long breaks and could possibly give you some info. There's also a paper out for people who want to work in film similar to the Back Stage paper, but I can't recall the name right now.
As for the west coast deal, it's not the place for me at the moment. I've spent a good bit of time out there, I had a pretty good internship in LA last summer. NY is a bit more "homey" to me, and my financial situation right now allows for NY much more easily than the west coast would. That, and there's still plenty of work going on up here! True, LA will always be the heart of it, but NY is definitely a close second.