(Close Window)
Topic: Question about crediting and magic history
I've been thinking about this since I started reading the Café a few months ago.
As a composer, I know what it's like to be influenced by and, let's face it, steal ideas. Throughout history composers have made no bones about it: "Good composers borrow, great composers steal."

Every art form evolves through influence and assimilation of ideas.
However, I have never gone to an art gallery and seen an exhaustive disclaimer next to a painting: "Clouds influenced by John Doe, tree coloring influenced by Joe Blow, this shade of red originally used by Jim Smith."

Also with music. Tonal music, anyway. There are only 12 notes...only so many ways to arrange them.

So I'm wondering why the magic world is so different, and so concerned with crediting each idea to its creator/developer, etc. I'm thinking about this mainly because every time something is posted in "Latest and Greatest," there is inevitably somebody who says "That's not your idea...I've seen it before. Why don't you give credit to so-and-so."

This isn't any kind of attack or challenge. I'm just genuinely interested in why magic is different in this respect from other art forms.
Magic relies on some chicanery.
Live music requires a performer. Exhibited art don't, it's just the work. You hear the music and see what the musician is doing. Art work is to enjoy. Neither are dependent on secrecy.

I don't feel that every sleight, patter line or plot used for a routine needs to be credited unless a large portion of the routine is from someone elses routine. If it's something new and unpublished then it shouldn't be put out without the permission of the creator, developer, etc.

One reason for crediting is out of respect and another so folks can refer to the original for further insight.

Other opinions can likely be found at 'The Round Table/Right or Wrong?' category.