(Close Window)
Topic: Charging too much or too little?
Hi everyone,

I've done about 10 kids shows in the past 6 months or so, and I've been charging $50 for a thirty minute show. I also did one for $75 because it was in another town. Most of these shows were for kids of teachers that work in my school system (I'm an eighth grade teacher), but I've got a few shows in a bigger city near my town now.

To get to the point, should I charge more or stay the same? I don't want to start undercutting other magicians or anything like that. I've had nothing but compliments at my shows and a few people have mentioned that they usually pay a lot more for the entertainment, but at the same time, I don't want to overcharge and lose potential customers.

Anyway, advice is welcome!!!

Have a great day,
Chad :dancing:
That is even less than what I charge here in New Zealand. If you can offer a service as good as the professional entertainers then you should charge about the same ball park as they do. Because you have a day job, honestly, you won't be able to do that. You can't answer the phone during the day if you are teaching. It will be difficult to promptly call people back, etc. I do about 6-7 parties every weekend and keeping it all professional is almost a full time job. I tend to think an appropriate fee might be about 75-80% of what the pros are charging.

Whatever you charge, some will think it is too high & some too low. Anyway, if you are charging much less than the pros you can really push for tips with no shame as well.

Oh, one thing I learned a long time ago: If people are willing to pay $75 in the next town, you can be sure they will pay $75 in your home town too.
Thanks for the advice, Andy. It's good to have other people's perspectives. Now that I've got some experience, I agree that most people probably would be willing to pay more. And like you said, some people will always complain either way.

Thanks again,
Chad