(Close Window)
Topic: Upcoming Recession
Just wondering if this is of concern to anyone here at The Magic Café?

I just wonder if the economy continues to sour, are people are going to pull back on things such as birthday parties? If states are having financial difficulties, could things such as library programs also be on the chopping block?

Any thoughts on this?

Gerry
Gerry-

I've been performing full-time since 1991. In that time, we've had a few recessions and economic downturns, but I've always managed to find work. One of the things I've found is that people will always find money for their kids- the birthday party business, while not totally immune to recession, is certainly a better market during a downturn than the corporate market. Depending on where you work, things may get tough, but in my experience, many parents will go into debt rather than scrimp on their kids' happiness. Your competitors will be in the same boat, too, so I'd consider investing now in some marketing materials- flyers, postage, possibly pre-paying for some ad space in parenting magazines, etc., while things are better, so you can do the marketing you need to do when things get tougher.
The ones who rely on price to sell their show and generic advertising, it will be rough on.
During the slow times, I have found that many corporations will cut back on entertainment for their events, or cancel the entire event.

I find it amazing how many referrals and previous clients will phone during this time. Also, market yourself to newer companies that are doing well, the ones that have not built up all the millions of debt and all the cool buildings and all the fancy corporate stuff, but the ones like we made 30 million this YEAR. WOW...let's party.... Find these companies in trade magazines and websites.
Lower paying gigs like libraries, schools, and preschools will keep going for the most part. Tparrerr62 hit right on about building up your promo material.