(Close Window)
Topic: Please don't shoot this messenger ...
Message: Posted by: amagician (Apr 3, 2003 06:52PM)
Steve and Co, please don't shoot this messenger. This is intended as constructive criticism about a dirty subject - a message I got to my Magic Café address this morning that appears to be spam.
It was advertising to my Magic Café address that appears to be from a very well-known and long established magic dealer.
I don't have any other copies on this system.
There are 3 possibilities I can think of;
1 The advertising is sent by commercial arrangement with MagicCafe. If that is correct, I would be glad to see someone supporting the MagicCafe but it should contain a notice to that effect with the proviso that no addresses are supplied to the advertiser.
2 The advertising has been sent by some malicious person who has skimmed addresses, then sent the spam but made it appear to be from the well-known company though it is not. I would be happy to supply the email with headers to the MagicCafe and the well-known company because I think they would have the interest and resources to push for prosecution (U.C.E. and fraud!).
3 The company or some ill-advised employee or consultant has skimmed addresses and sent the spam. I don't know what the outcome will be here, but every other Forum that I visit would ban them for a period and publicise their use of this desperate amateurish tactic to everyone.
I am not saying this is what should happen in that circumstance because I believe that whoever provides and runs each Forum has every right to run it as they see fit.
But my point is that this type of occurence (spam) puts a black mark against every responsible internet marketer. :yippee:
Message: Posted by: Mary B. (Apr 3, 2003 07:31PM)
Hi John,

You have your domain in your signature, that's the most likely way the spam-monger got it. They send mail to whatever@yourdomain.com, in the hopes that it will go through.

We have routines in place to protect your email address from spambots on the member list page and on the profile page, but not anywhere else. We thought about setting things up so the scripts would parse the posts for email addresses, but with the amount of posting that goes on here, it would have put too much strain on the server.

Steve does not sell or otherwise provide members email addresses to advertisers or anyone else, that I know of. The spammers didn't get your address from him.

Please do send me the email with complete headers. Your second supposition is probably the correct one. It's easy to send email and make it look (at least on the surface) like the email was sent by a legitimate party.

For your sake, and for anyone else reading this, if you don't want the spambots to get your email address, don't put it in your signature or in a post. If you want to give your address to someone here, the PM system is safe from spambots.
Message: Posted by: Steve Brooks (Apr 4, 2003 12:11AM)
I do not now, nor have I ever given [i]anyone[/i] for any reason the private information of our Café members, that includes email addresses. Please see our [b]Privacy Statement[/b]
[url=http://www.themagiccafe.com/privacy.html]Click Here![/url] :nod: