(Close Window)
Topic: MediaStar?
Message: Posted by: Mystical Matthew (Jul 13, 2009 01:12PM)
Has anyone tried Kerry's new product - Media Star?
http://www.theceswebsite.com/products/audio/mediastar/index.html

I've been looking for something like this for quite a while... Does anyone have any experience with it? I love my MP3-Tech, but I'd love to incorporate video into my act...
Message: Posted by: berrysr (Jul 15, 2009 12:18PM)
I would be interested in understanding what is meant by video. I assume, running on a PC, that you can queue up an mpeg file that plays throught the PC's external video port to a projector. What type of control do you have over this while it is playing.

Just thinking out load: You can embed a video file in powerpoint and que using a presentation remote. I am wondering if this is the functionality Mediastar is drawing from.

If it is - how do you get the video on the big screen and your Queues on the small laptop screen?
Message: Posted by: Kent Wong (Jul 15, 2009 01:35PM)
This really does sound similar to a projedted Powerpoint presentation with a remote. I've been using a remote powerpoint system for the last two years and it's great. The advantage with this system is you have a very large display screen on the notebook computer to tell you what track or video is up next.

However, if you are going to use video or other graphics in your show, you will still need to buy a projector and screen. This will add several hundred dollars more to your total purchase.

For the total powerpoint remote system, here's what you need:

Notebook computer with Microsoft Powerpoint (approx. $500.00)
Powerpoint presentation remote (approx. $50.00)
USB Cable to connect from notebook to LCD projector (approx. $10.00)
3.5 mm to RCA cable to connect from notebook to PA system (approx. $10.00)
LCD projector with screen (approx. $600.00)
Heavy duty, multi-plug extension cord (approx. $20.00)

Approximate total cost = $1190.00

Given these cost estimates, the above product may be worth the money if it comes with a high end LCD projector and a good sized projection screen. Just my two bits.

Kent
Message: Posted by: Ray Pierce (Jul 15, 2009 02:40PM)
Lol... I want to know where to get a projector & screen for $600!

Kerry's system sounds perfect for a self contained magic act where you need to run the system yourself. You can see the cues off stage on the laptop and be well set up for most issues that could arise in a live performance setting.

We use a redundant projector system (2 matching projectors stacked) for better output but that depends a lot on the ambient light level where you're perfoming. Also, we're usually feeding at least a 9' x 12' screen so it also depends on the scale of your performance space as to how much projector and screen you'll need.

We usualy front project but be aware of the gain loss if you're doing rear projection.

Powerpoint does video but it's not the ideal platform for it. I also use Sound Control Systems's SCS 10 which does not only sound but video to a second screen as well.

I got a programable presentation remote to trigger the system and it's fine for the few shows where I'm running it myself.

I use SFX for larger shows but it only sends SMPTE cues to other media players. For larger events like that, we have a dedicated switcher to go from powerpoint slides to preshot video on a media server.
Message: Posted by: Kent Wong (Jul 15, 2009 03:45PM)
[quote]
On 2009-07-15 15:40, Ray Pierce wrote:
Lol... I want to know where to get a projector & screen for $600!
[/quote]

Here is an ENTRY LEVEL projector with a screen from Costco. In the past, Costco had a similar projector with a floor standing 84" pull up screen.

http://www.costco.com/Browse/Product.aspx?Prodid=11317427&whse=BC&topnav=&browse=&lang=en-US

Kent
Message: Posted by: rattman (Jul 16, 2009 12:04AM)
We have a version of the Digiselect show management system that also plays Powerpoints so if you embed music or video in the powerpoint it will play it as well. You need to use the split monitor capability of your laptop and set Powerpoint to us the second screen. that way the first screen (Your laptop) has your Queues and the second screen (the projector) has your Powerpoint/video

You would still need a Projector and screen or you could us a Large LCD TV that many clubes may have already.

I am not sure if this is how the Media Star works

The digiselect version is in beta and available if you email us at sales@interfazeit.com
Message: Posted by: Mystical Matthew (Jul 16, 2009 03:49PM)
There's three issues that I have with the PowerPoint remote system. Maybe those of you using it could weigh in...

1.) The range on many of them (particularly the Bluetooth ones) is less than stellar.

2.) Most of them are pretty chunky. They aren't as easy to palm as my MP3 Tech remote. It may be a little thing, but I like to keep the remote concealed as much as possible.

3.) It's hard to use a PowerPoint remote as an ankle switch. I'm not currently using this feature, but like that it's available. (I don't know if MediaStar has this capability either)

It looks to me like MediaStar is a netbook (not a typo) with a dongle that allows it to interface with an MP3 Tech remote.

They mention some "custom software" so I think there might be more than just PowerPoint, but I don't know exactly what it does...
Message: Posted by: Kent Wong (Jul 16, 2009 10:31PM)
I don't know if there is an ankle switch for the powerpoint remotes, but these days, the variety of powerpoint remotes has increased dramatically. Some are quite slim and easy to conceal. I also have not used any with bluetooth technology, but the standard-style remotes have worked well for me on large, theatre stages. For me, range has never been and issue.

Kent
Message: Posted by: rattman (Jul 17, 2009 10:29AM)
The one we use for our software is the Mobile Edge MEAP01 Wireless Slim-line Presentation Remote. It fits and can be storedin your PCMCIA slot on the laptop. So very small and thin. The range seems very good also.
Message: Posted by: Reggie (Sep 30, 2009 10:27AM)
For all you guys wondering if you should buy the Mediastar, all I can say is just do it. I used the mediastar for the first time in my show this past saturday and every thing went great!

After the Show one of the audience members even complamented the sound tech(ha ha)what sound tech. The ankle switch makes the mediastar a breeze to work with. I also have the Soundmaster and the difference is huge, you get what you pay for.

I think that the sound is just as important as the magic, and you would not do subpar magic for your audience so why give them sub par music. I have only scratched the surface with what can be done with the Mediastar just wait until I've played with it for a few months.

Reginald
Message: Posted by: randallmagic (Sep 30, 2009 11:16AM)
Dave Kaplan loves this system. I saw his lecture at the World Magic Seminar and he showcased this system. Well it was the system before this one, but he talked about this one too.
Randall
Message: Posted by: Ray Thompson (Oct 10, 2009 08:32PM)
You do get what you pay for, but that is all right. Don't buy more than you need for the number and size of show you are currently doing. I have had a Show Tech for 12 years or more and went to the Media Star last March. I LOVE it, but I do a lot of work. Yes, it will show Power Point or video via the secondary display control to a large screen LCD TV or to a video projector. If you order it with the laptop you get a netbook which is pleanty big to see anywhere on stage. However, you can order it without the computer and use your own.
If you are needing to control music and cues for yourself on a small budget using the Power Point program or the free Impress program with a presentation remote (rf with 100 ft range velcro it in your jacket or pocket) works wonderfully well. Learn how to program it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HWG7dQ-IG7A
A guy I just taught stage hypnosis to in January is currently on a 43 club tour using this on his MacBook and loves it.
Message: Posted by: Sean-Paul (Aug 11, 2011 01:09AM)
Hey guys - I have Media star - and I love it.

In fact I use it to run and control my Pop up star drops.

I am selling two used units right now. If you have media star you can promgram these curtains to do all kinds of cool stuff in your show.

Take A look

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hJBa9bt0db8
Message: Posted by: Christopher Starr (Toronto) (Sep 30, 2011 09:14PM)
I am thinking of buying a Media Star to control all the music in the show. Does anyone have the DMX controller to operate lights and special effects? I'm very interested in that aspect too.
Message: Posted by: GrassosMagicTheatre (Oct 4, 2011 09:20PM)
I love the MediaStar
Message: Posted by: GrassosMagicTheatre (Oct 4, 2011 09:21PM)
Keyy Pollack builds his own DMX controller
Message: Posted by: taoist (Oct 16, 2011 09:46PM)
I'm in the market for one of these.
I currently have the mp3tech which I would like to sell. I'm not sure of appropriate used prices so am bumping into this thread.
Message: Posted by: pattrick (Oct 24, 2011 06:11AM)
After using my Showtech with the Mini CD player successfully for many years I needed an upgrade. I looked at many of the other products which had many options. I saw Kerry at Abbott's Convention and asked about the MP3 tech. After talking I settled on the MediaStar that he provides WITH the notebook. After a short learning curve ( to get my music from my Mac to the MediaStar) it is FANTASTIC. It has a nice screen you can see your show order, and the best part is you can alter your list on the spot with no re-programming the entire set. Much more compact than the Showtech and all of the same features. You can edit your music on the Mediastar as well. I love the ankle switch system, as well as the additional other control.Lots of options for DMX, Powerpoint and other options. Although the price may nudge away some, this is the way to go. Online tutorials really help the learning process. This is a winner.
Message: Posted by: kenscott (Oct 30, 2011 08:00PM)
I use the MP3tech for smaller shows and the media star for the bigger shows. I simply love kerry's products. I too used the showtech loved it as well. The media star is so easy use. I love the fact that I can look off stage and there is a my cue sheet. Kerry stands behind is products, if you have a problem with any of them he will fix it very quickly. I can't say enough good things about the media star.

Enjoy
Message: Posted by: taoist (Nov 13, 2011 02:23PM)
I still haven't bought the media star yet as I really only want to travel with one and the media star means I need to have a netbook up and running. I wish media star could give the option to be operated without the netbook --audio only as the mp3tech-- as a netbook setup isn't always convenient. (Ie: such as some event performing).
Great products and service though.
Message: Posted by: Mystical Matthew (Nov 13, 2011 05:46PM)
[quote]
On 2011-11-13 15:23, taoist wrote:
I still haven't bought the media star yet as I really only want to travel with one and the media star means I need to have a netbook up and running. I wish media star could give the option to be operated without the netbook --audio only as the mp3tech-- as a netbook setup isn't always convenient. (Ie: such as some event performing).
Great products and service though.
[/quote]

Media Star - Netbook = MP3 Tech

Still haven't bought a Media Star. Totally happy with my MP3 Tech though! ;-)
Message: Posted by: taoist (Nov 14, 2011 12:58PM)
Kerry's customer support emailed that I couldn't use media star without a netbook...unless I misunderstood?
Message: Posted by: Mystical Matthew (Nov 14, 2011 10:22PM)
They're different products. If you want a professional grade remote cueing system that doesn't use a laptop, buy his MP3 Tech.
http://www.theceswebsite.com/products/audio/mp3tech/mp3tech.html
Message: Posted by: taoist (Nov 15, 2011 05:09PM)
Media Star - Netbook does not equal MP3tech is the point. You must use a netbook with MS even if you just need audio.

MP3tech is great--I have one.
Message: Posted by: Mystical Matthew (Nov 15, 2011 10:47PM)
OH! I see... I misunderstood.

You wanted to buy a Media Star, then use it stand alone without the netbook at some events. That makes sense.

Yeah, you can't do that. :-/
Message: Posted by: Terry Magelssen (Nov 25, 2011 11:20PM)
OK guys here's couple of questions....I'm an old time user of Kerry's ShowTech for years. Since I switched back to MAC a few years ago, I got hooked on iTunes, iPods and the iCue2.
Well, the iCue finally layer down on me and I'm ready to come back to Kerry's products. I think I want the MediaStar but am wondering if I can use the MAC as the laptop. I have Parallels installed which allows me to run Windows XP on the MAC. Does this setup sound like it will work? Any MAC guys doing this? Just trying to save a little money by not getting the netbook.
Message: Posted by: tropicalillusions (Nov 26, 2011 10:16PM)
Terry, just go to his web page, give him and his crew a call, they will answer your questions in a snap, these guys are great to work with. this product always has great tech support. I too am a ole show tech user, over 10 years on my baby and still going strong. I will be doing upgrade as well.
Message: Posted by: kenscott (Nov 26, 2011 11:54PM)
I will tell for you with my media star I only use the notebook that he sells with it if you want. I only use the notebook for the mediastar I don;t use the notebook as my computer, I don't go online or check email with it. It is simply just for the show music and for the mediastar. With less stuff on the computer you will run into fewer problems.

Ken
Message: Posted by: Mystical Matthew (Nov 27, 2011 07:49PM)
I don't own a MediaStar (yet), but heed Ken's advice here...

I'm a certified computer repair technician (although I don't do that for a living... I do magic). You want to dedicate a laptop just for this purpose. The last thing you want is some stupid virus messing with your remote cueing system.

The more junk you install on any system the less stable it becomes. That's why "format the hard drive and reinstall everything" is such a common solution to most computer repairs. It lets you start with a clean slate.

Netbooks are cheap and getting cheaper. I wouldn't make the investment in a MediaStar and not use a dedicated laptop with it. When I make the upgrade I plan to just buy it with the laptop and use it only for my music.
Message: Posted by: pattrick (Dec 8, 2011 02:26AM)
Ken is right on. That is all you should use the Media Star for. And if you get one, buy the notebook that it comes with. I saw no advantage getting my own netbook and getting the program seperately. It is awesome.
Message: Posted by: Jason Purdy (May 7, 2019 03:42PM)
Does any one here happen to have a DMX/USB dongle available for exDMX used with MediaStar? Thank you.
Message: Posted by: Waterloophai (May 13, 2019 02:48PM)
Https://liveshowcontrol.com/products/mediastar-pro?variant=18696292663396
Message: Posted by: Jason Purdy (May 13, 2019 04:55PM)
[quote]On May 13, 2019, Waterloophai wrote:
Https://liveshowcontrol.com/products/mediastar-pro?variant=18696292663396 [/quote]

Thanks so much Waterloophai! Apparently they are out of stock but I am on the waiting list.
Message: Posted by: Waterloophai (May 13, 2019 05:19PM)
[quote]On May 13, 2019, Jason Purdy wrote:
[quote]On May 13, 2019, Waterloophai wrote:
Https://liveshowcontrol.com/products/mediastar-pro?variant=18696292663396 [/quote]

Thanks so much Waterloophai! Apparently they are out of stock but I am on the waiting list. [/quote]
Out of stock? That's strange.
I put the link in this thread because TODAY I received a promotion email of them with the text:
"Great news!
MediaStar Pro System is now back in stock and we thought you'd like to know."
Message: Posted by: Michael Dustman (May 14, 2019 10:06AM)
Yeah....I got the same email and went to order one. Right now the EU version is in stock but the US version is out of stock. But, definitely ready to purchase as soon as it is available.
Message: Posted by: Jason Purdy (May 30, 2019 07:47AM)
Sorry for any confusionů I was searching for the easy DMX cable. They were out of the DMX/USB cable used for their lighting software exDMX.
But yes, they also had a small supply of the MediaStar Pro devices that they sold out of very quickly. The ezDMX cables are now in stock!