(Close Window)
Topic: Any artists here? Need Your Advice
Well, since my job moved to Mexico, I have had time to think and ponder about a career change. I really have my heart set on becoming an illustrator or a commercial artist. Drawing, painting, sketching is something I've always liked to do ever since I was a small boy, and I know I have the talent if only it could be developed.

The two main schools I know about are Famous artists schools, and Art instruction Schools. I have already found out that A.I.S doesn't accept Pell Grant or G.I bill. Makes me wonder if they have their nose up in the air since they are both real money. And I currently have no income coming in, which means I have GOT to find funding or I'm out.

Any way, I was wondering if anybody here has had any dealings with these two art schools and could recommend one over the other for a particular reason?

I appreciate your advice as ol' Daff is overdue for a career change.
I am not an artist, but I am experienced in the world of technical schools vs. colleges. Technical schools, be it auto-mechanic or art, rarely take financial aid. Why? They are schools built to run as a business. Its unfortunate, but that's the truth. State recognized schools are the ones that accept those forms of financial aid.

Art schools, along with other technical schools, have their nose up in the air to make you think it is a great place to go and that they are of high quality. In my research, it usually isn't the case. Mind you I am talking very generally about technical schools. They can be very helpful and provide opportunities that you didn't have before. But, they are usually overpriced, don't lead to the job leads you are looking for, and don't accept financial aid. Also, if you change your mind halfway through the program you are obligated to finish and will still have to pay the full tuition.