(Close Window)
Topic: Beginning to work the streets - tips appreciated
Hey there.

Today I went to do tricks to the streets in Santa Mónica. I have a lot of experience in birthday parties and social engagements but not on the streets.
It was a very interesting experience and I made some money.
I have almost no knowledge on this type of gig. I know you basically have to do three things: build a crowd, entertain it, get the most possible money.
The best i´ve seen so far at this three items were a couple of guys who would do acrobatic stuff and be funny talking all the time.
Not exactly sure how they built the crowd but the audience was very entertained and man did those guys make money. The main guy had a polished money speech with jokes and stuff. He was basically making people put fives in the hat. Then it caught on and lots of people were giving 5 dollar bills.
Great great work.

I never got a big crowd. It was always small crowds and short little shows for each. Usually I would lure kids with the raccoon (amazing attention getter) do a couple of raccoon moves and then jump to card tricks. It´s always the kids i´m attracting which is fine but I would like to attract adults as well.

I still got a lot of work to do in building a crowd and transitioning from ´stuff I did to catch your attention´ to ´show´.

All tips and book or video recommendations will be a great help.

Thanks as usual!
That's called sidewalk shows, short 10 to 15 minutes long and hat 'em Danno!" That's all I do and it pays very well. The best DVD on the subject is Kozmo's "Tale from the Streets" it shows you how to stop 'em, entertain them and hat them the right way. Congrats on starting in the life, be careful or you'll get the "disease" and go full time busking, it's a heck of a great way to live!

Paddy
You don't need to go back very far with past postings to find this question, and answers, pretty much exhausted.

Congratulations on taking the leap! :)
Hey guys, thanks for the info!