(Close Window)
Topic: Busking research...
Hello fellas,

I just want to share a bit of information with you. I am a busking magician from Munich, Germany, the city of beer, oktoberfest and weisswurst.

Besides the magic I am also a student of cultural anthrophology and just finishing my studies. My thesis is about "Trickster and street magicians". I want to show the connection between the mythical figure and the real living buskers. I believe that we buskers share a lot of the same traits as e.g. Hermes, Loki, Mephistoteles or the Coyote.

In course of this research I am reading a long list of busking resources, not so many DVDs because most DVDs are just concerned with tricks, although I know the good exceptions, like Cellinis DVDs or Kozmos DVD.

Certainly one can differ about the value of the single works, but I thought I will share my list and my reviews, so one can add or recommend new works.

One of the last books is also one of the best. It is not expensive but well written. I must admit the production cannot be compared to a work like Royal Touch, but it is one of this small booklets, which contains more gems and gold than the English Crown jewels.
I am talking about "Street Wise" by Gary McKibben aka "The Blackbeltmagician". In about 40 pg. one can read a lot about performing on the street, be it money lines, trick suggestions or stories and what I like most about it, one can feel the spirit of the author between the lines, a quality which I found seldom in a book. Another thing which is just great is his self-reflection, his thinking about his own thoughts.
It is certainly not a monumental work, if one looks just at the content, but how should I say, it is one of the books I am digging through. It is a sort of meditation manual for me. Open it up and I easily find something, which I missed before and gives me new insights.