(Close Window)
Topic: Soft coins and shiny coins. NOOB
Ok, Im a fumbling rookie at all of this. And the reason I havent been posting as much as I was in the beginning has nothing to do with loosing interest but because the amazing, and magical, SEARCH function is back! No need to repeat things posted time and time again... And usually ppl catch a lot of flame for that so I don't want to have anyone put a clown nose spell on me, or a mentalist-hypno-dumbing effect on my wife (well, I will pay for that one on morgans).

My questions: I keep hearing the term "Soft Coins". I guess I am not that far into Modern Coin Magic to know what the term means. So far I have gathered that it means coins that are worn down. Worn down where? All over? On the edge where the little ridges are? On the face? And, What are the advantages and disadvantages of "Soft Coins?"

My other question has to do with milled coins. Some of my coins are too old (some are even 1882,3,9 morgans) Should I buy a new roll of half dollars and Dollars to practice with? Will they be more beginner friendly?

I am sucking less and less every day at coins. Would like to thank the following individuals. Bobo, and Metal by Eric Jones (stuck in the first 15 minutes of the video because I suck and needed a visual to the Awesome Bobo material -mtv generation (rolls eyes) but when they had music videos-. (Mr. Marion -AKA Mb217- sent me a PM with a video that helped me find the CP sweet spot. Thank you Marion. Ask nicely and he might do the same for you.)

I appreciate the opinion of my coin magic mentors.
Respect,
Shamsiel
(My dry hands and the sound a coin makes as it hits the kitchen tiles is driving me nuts!)
Message: Posted by: Johnny Butterfield (Jan 8, 2011 03:47PM)
[quote]
On 2011-01-08 16:29, shamsiel wrote:
Ok, Im a fumbling rookie at all of this[/quote]

As were we all at one tine or another! The only dumb question is the one left unasked.