(Close Window)
Topic: Actual Street Performers
Hello all

It's been a while since I have had the time to check in but I was wondering how many people on this site actually make their money either part- or full-time from performing on the street. This is not to make fun of those people who are getting started or those who do it for fun, I am just curious as to how many of us devote a big portion of our income to our street act. I don't want dollars just a head count.

Ted, Danny, Gazzo, Cellini, and Whit are excluded (but feel free to chime in), and don't get ****** if I didn't mention your name, it's late and I have not been on the site for a while.

Much love,
Mat Random
I do magic on the side of me being a DJ. Does that count?
Here's my story: this is my first season on the streets. I've been doing magic for 20 years but this is the first time I've put together a street act and took it out "there".

Earlier this spring I had scoped out what I thought would be good pitches and went out and did the act. My first gig I made $5 for about 2.5 hours work. An eye opener to say the least but I did make some dough! I continued to refine my act and, most importantly, continued to perform.

When the tourist season reached its peak I was working three to four days a week, for four hours a day and I averaged $40 a day. Again, not great but I felt like I was doing something right. From those gigs I snagged several festivals (still busking, of course) which upped my hat to about $65 for four hours work.

The season is winding down now and I think I've learned enough to refine my act even more this winter and pick up where I left off in the spring. I'd say I was successful and I owe Kozmo, Danny, Whit, Pete Biro and mucho others a part of my hat. Er, well, maybe next year...but they all played a part in my success by being so open on this forum.
You can add my head to the count.