(Close Window)
Topic: What do you do with mini cards?
It looks like most of the posts here are about jumbo cards. I'm a newbie - what are some of the uses where mini cards are better than regular cards? I have some minis but I really don't know what to do with them.
I think Bob Jardine's 'LITLLE ESP' is one of the finest effects you can perform with a mini deck. You can watch it here: http://youtu.be/U3ZByKPYjcM

Taught in full on Bob's excellent DVD (it was a VHS when I watched it) though you may be able to suss out the method from the performance.

Cheers

AM
Thanks, Murrari. I figured out how to do it, but wouldn't it be just as effective if done with a regular deck in the lap?
For kids with small hands, mini-cards allows them to begin palming cards and doing sleights that they just can't handle with regular size (even bridge size) cards. So if you teach card magic to youngsters, consider giving them a mini deck to work with.

Mini decks are also good for comedy when you have a card trick where the spectator is supposed to shuffle the deck and you toss him a mini-deck that has been switched in for the regular deck. He will get all flustered shuffling and cutting the tiny cards and the audience will enjoy the attempts. A good ending is to use Manuel Magie's "Clubbed" to visibly turn the selected mini-card into a huge ultra Jumbo card.
Watching an audience member try to shuffle a tiny deck sounds great! Thanks!

And I do have to say this again: I am astonished at the accumulated knowledge of the members of this forum. Seems that somebody always pops up with a reference to other magicians' tricks that fit in perfectly with the theme of whatever is being discussed.

Love it!
Hello Dan

I have a 188 page hardbound book I've been meaning to mention to you, but just came across it this evening> sorry for the delay...