(Close Window)
Topic: What do you do on a regular basis to make your show better?
Buy better tricks?
Learn/practice a musical instrument to add to your act?
Push ups?
Dancing lessons?
Add corny jokes because we know everybody loves a good corny joke?

What do you to do improve your act?
Since I'm just starting out:

Practice
Write scripts
Ask you guys lots of questions
Steal your jokes
Think about ways to link effects into routines
Review and think about my performances and try to eliminate dead space and increase audience involvement
Practice
Add bits based on input from audiences - not limited to just jokes. Things one audience does makes the show better for other audiences. Does that make sense?
Yeah Michael, that does make sense for sure. I try to pay attention to what works and doesn't for each show so I know what to keep or drop. I read this forum for ideas and inspiration. No dance lessons for me! I try to add new tricks because I keep running into kids that have seen me at almost every gig.
I've added some new material in the last few months, which of course involves writing, prop. management and more.

I've made some changes to my table and prop arrangement to make things easier to get to (still a work in progress).

I've asked my mentor and some friends for suggestions to make my performance stronger.

I've tried to make my booking interactions with clients more professional and reassuring.
I think the clients impression of me before I arrive has a lot to do with how they frame the show (or more how I frame the show).

I've tried to streamline my set up and teardown because I've been feeling that I look a bit scattered.

I'm smiling more (after seeing some frowning video).

-Mary Mowder
It's not a matter of what I like. I'm being paid by the audience.