(Close Window)
Topic: I want to learn the chop cup
Where would you advise that I should learn the basic version of the chop cup! I love watching Paul Daniels' chop cup

I have never done any kind of cups and balls before!

Thanks, Ozzy
Ozzy,
First I strongly you get Michael Ammar's DVD, The Complete Cups and Balls. From this DVD series (there are 2 DVDs), and learning a routine, you will learn so much about magic that can be applied to everything you do. You will also learn basic moves that will help with any chop cup routine.

I generally do chop cup today and not C&B, but the learning I got from building a C&B routine were invaluable.

Then I recommend you get The World's Greatest Magic, Chop Cup and you will be all set.

Hudson
Hudson's idea is good.

Also try these books:

"The How to Book of the Chop Cup" by Merlyn T. Shute published by Morrissey MAgic Ltd. of Canada (Widely available)

"Knowing the Chop Cup: And Other One Cup, One Ball Routines" by Will Ayling for the Supreme Magic Know-How Series (Out of print but I found a copy on the big auction site. You might be able to find it easier in the UK)
Learn don allan's chop cup routine. it's the best routine to start with

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owxXuRhvxUA
John Mendoza routine is very good and entertaining. Larry Jennings' routine is also very good but requires more props, part of the 2 cups routine from Gary Ouellet (2 goblets) has very nice moves that could be added to a chop cup routine. Don Alan is also very good and simpler.
And there are more, in the L&L DVD for chop cups (very inexpensive) you have I think 5 or 6 routines (Mendoza, Jennings and Ouellet are included on the DVD also includes Danny Tong, simple and entertaining routine. Most of the routines are sitting and Tong's is the only one perfomed standing

Hope this helps
Thanks a bunch guys, nice and helpful advice