(Close Window)
Topic: "genius" effects
Hi to everybody! I am a professional actor/juggler from italy, I recently became really interested in magic, especially mentalism. it's the first time I write here so... nice to meet you!
I have a question for you if you don't mind, I need help. I am working on my new theater show, mainly a comedy show. one of the characters I will play is a sort of mentalist/guru/coach/scientist that is a master of mind's powers so I am looking for some mentalism effect's that can give the idea to the audience that he is a sort of "genius". I mean that I don't want them to think he has psychic powers or be an illusionist but that he developed extraordinary mental skills that potentially everyone could achive with a special training. right now, to my short knowledge of mentalism, I am considering this effects:
- memory test
- book test
but I am sure that there are many more that I don't know and can fit for my purpose with the appropriate presentation. any idea or advice? can you suggest me the most appropriate methods/books/DVDs/props for my goal? many thanks in advance to anyone will be helpful. all the best.

lorenzo
Day for any date would work well, the ability to square and cube numbers and a magic square...all found in Corinda's 13 Steps.
Memory tests are great, such as memorizing a list of 20 random objects called out by the audience. Book tests can be fun too (one of my personal favorites. Don't know why, but I love book tests). Quick calculations can play well too, such as a magic square. If you haven't already taken the plunge you could do no wrong by investing in Corinda's 13 steps to mentalism. That one book should give you plenty of material.
Benvenuto, Lorenzo!