(Close Window)
Topic: Do you tell your wife/partner/spouse?
Well, I couldn't find the forum I was looking for, so I put this here...

I'm not a beginner; I've been interested in magic for many years. It's a hobby for me, but from time to time, I'll do a few tricks for family, friends, co-workers, etc. My wife has always been my (not so willing) test audience. The problem is, she always wants to "know how it's done". She knows I'm not supposed to tell her. Then she'll say, "But I'm your assistant." Let's just say that if I don't show her, she becomes a bit "less willing".

Anyway, what do you do? Do you tell?

BTW, of course I never reveal the secrets to anyone else.

Thanks!
If you don't want to live on the couch for the rest of your life, then yes. :)

Seriously, though, I think it's a personal choice. My wife knows bits and pieces but not everything. The downside of her knowing certain things is that when I show her new material I can't use her as a 100% gauge of a layperson because of the bit of stuff she does know. Think of it that way. The more your wife knows, the more she'll start looking at effects like a magician.
Message: Posted by: Josh the Superfluous (Jan 21, 2013 07:01PM)
I don't tell. But sometimes my laundry does.
Sleeping on a couch on a three dog cold night ain't much fun. Been there, not much room for the dogs. Women usually know everything already and I've never heard of a successful marriage where the guy has secrets. They have ways of finding out about stuff. In the meantime, your on their list...be forewarned. They have ways of getting back. Like the next time you say, "There's nothing up my sleeve" - she might chime in and say, "And there's nothing in his pants."