(Close Window)
Topic: Need Illusions for College Talent Show-HELP!
Hey everyone,

I am entered into a talent show at my college March 5th. I originally had a plan to do some card tricks and utilize a projector. But yesterday I found out that they had moved it to an outside stage. I was rather upset! The layout of the venue is as follows:

-It is outside on a large field, equipped with lights and a sound system.
-The stage is raised off the ground.
-There will be a large audience.
-I have 15 minutes for my act.
-It'll be at night, but the stage is lighted.
-Angles are weak: the stage is open on all sides.

I have attached a picture of the stage at night.

Does anyone have suggestions for tricks that would work with this set-up? I have some experience with stage work. I'm looking for low-budget, minimal construction illusions. I haven't created a persona yet because I was going to see what suggestions people had. I'd like something funny; remember, this is college!

One of the tricks I am looking at is Sympathetic Silks (with a Levent-esque knot/not stage twist).

Any other ideas or tips on how to make this a successful show would help too. There are big prizes for first place!

Thanks everyone,
-Shane
You can still do card tricks, if the cards are large enough: See "Ace Chaser" from The Wizards' Journal #21.

The biggest problem with illusions is that you usually need one or two assistants - do you have any?

If you choose to do an escape, you usually need people from the audience to confine you - is that acceptable?

Productions might work if you can produce 36 inch silks or larger (six foot).
The picture didn't upload last time. Here's the stage. Sorry, if it's a bit hard to see.

-Shane
[quote]
On 2014-02-17 14:09, jimgerrish wrote:
You can still do card tricks, if the cards are large enough: See "Ace Chaser" from The Wizards' Journal #21.

The biggest problem with illusions is that you usually need one or two assistants - do you have any?