(Close Window)
Topic: What do you consider mentalism?
So I have been performing magic for over two years now. Christmas parties, school for my middle school age students, friends, family etc.basically anyone who is willing to give up the minutes of their lives to watch me perform. I have a few tricks that I consider "reading their minds" tricks like "A Word In A Million" And some card tricks. Would you consider these tricks pure mentalism out just entry level magic?
Mentalists don't do "card tricks"
There is already a lengthy thread on this (and many old ones as well) that is ongoing:

http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewtopic.php?topic=572045&forum=15

Short answer- a single mental effect presented amidst a program of card tricks or magic tricks is not mentalism.
If what you are presenting displays some kind of uncanny mental ability, you're ONLY doing effects that display some kind of uncanny mental ability (whether or not cards are involved), and you are presenting yourself as someone who has some sort of uncanny mental ability, then it's mentalism.
[quote]On Dec 3, 2014, ummer21 wrote: I have a few tricks that I consider "reading their minds" tricks like "A Word In A Million" And some card tricks. Would you consider these tricks pure mentalism out just entry level magic? [/quote]

Surely not mentalism. Mentalists don't do tricks. Mentalism is much, much more than just mental-based "tricks." If anything what you are referring to is simply mental-magic.
Mental magic and Mentalism are separated by a thin line.
This is the first IMHO crucial step of appreciating what Mentalism can be defined as.