(Close Window)
Topic: Kids effects based on the Tarbell Course in Magic
I am relatively new to Magic Café and have not been able to flip through all of the amazing amount of information that is available to its members. Nevertheless, after searching using multiple keywords I cannot find any relevant thread about Tarbellīs Course in Magic and effects which are useful/successful for kidsī audiences. Card tricks are generally to boring for young people to understand or care; we magicians tend to avoid them when performing for kids. Below is an example of an effect from Tarbell that works well for children of up to ten years of age.

For over twenty five years, I have performed a couple hundred times an effect which appears on page 284 of the first volume of Tarbellīs Course (on the ninth printing of the first edition - 1971). It was originally called "The Devilīs Letter". As indicated below, I modified it slightly to be used for a childrenīs audience.

A boy and a girl are called up front. The girl is handed a cloth purse, which she examines and states to be empty. She is asked to hang it from her shoulder and guard it closely. The boy assistant is asked to freely select a card from a Jumbo deck. A four of hearts is forced. Four black cards are then separated by the magician from the deck. The boy is asked to place his card between the fanned four cards. The magician cannot see the cardīs faces; only the backs. After closing the fan of five cards, the forced card is secretly moved towards the back. The cards are counted one by one and placed "on the back" of group of cards. In reality, the magician bends the back card (4 of hearts) slightly to allow for the incoming already counted cards to be placed in front. That is fourth from front to back of the group of five cards. After the four cards are counted, the last one is not exposed, and remains on the back. Thus, the chosen card "disappears".