(Close Window)
Topic: Corinda 13 steps
Message: Posted by: mindacrossrhino (May 11, 2016 05:39AM)
Hi all

I am currently doing some research into various mentalism techniques etc and have been working my way through Corinda. Whilst the following is not something I will find myself using (not least because I have very few acquaintances that play chess), nonetheless the 'Mate in One' problem on page 70 has me flummoxed (never that hard).

No doubt this is just me being a bit thick, but for the life of me I cannot work this out, despite knowing the answer (no doubt hampered by my ignorance of chess notation).

In the interests of merely stopping this bugging me I wonder if anyone can help me out. Without giving too much away, my understanding is that the pawn moves one space forwards and how this is converted, however I can't see how this makes for Check Mate (merely Check) as the white king is not in any danger, and the black kind could merely take the newly converted piece and not be in Check - couldn't it?

Perhaps my chess understanding is weak, or am I misunderstanding the move required, in either case I am hoping someone could put me out of my misery and explain how this works?? Please PM if this would in any way lead to exposure, but hopefully a cryptic answer would suffice as I am familiar with the set-up etc.

Without any set-up or divulging the details I'm hopeful this post won't be deemed as exposing anything (please feel free to berate me if I am wrong as it is certainly not my intent).

Many thanks
Simon
Message: Posted by: mastermindreader (May 11, 2016 05:58AM)
I don't have a copy of the book in front of me, but I believe that the pawn is promoted to a piece of the OPPOSITE COLOR, which was perfectly legal under the chess rules of the time, which simply stated that a pawn could be promoted to ANY piece. And the black king can't take a piece of his own color.

This is really more of an historical curiosity/puzzle and is no way a mental effect of any kind.
Message: Posted by: mindacrossrhino (May 11, 2016 06:06AM)
Thanks Bob, that's the answer and I was being thick! Knew the piece was promoted to the opposite colour, but failed to realise that this also meant that this space then became off limits to the black King, because as you say you can't take your own piece. The penny has finally dropped.

Don't suppose you know if this is still a legitimate puzzle move the current chess rules? The way Corinda words it suggests that the rule around promoting pieces was amended to prohibit this, but would be interesting to know if that were the case or not.

As you say this is a curiosity, however I do like puzzles (although as you can see am not especially good at them;-)

Thanks again.
Message: Posted by: mastermindreader (May 11, 2016 06:29AM)
The rules haven't permitted this for a LONG time. Promotion to the opposite color was apparently permitted by an 1862 British chess rule.

See the following for an explanation, which includes the same puzzle published by Corinda:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Promotion_%28chess%29#1862_British_Chess_Association_rule
Message: Posted by: mindacrossrhino (May 11, 2016 11:46AM)
Many thanks again, shame it's not still current as I like the unusual solution to this problem.
Message: Posted by: Atlas (May 11, 2016 02:15PM)
Wasn't Corinda British?

Best,

Atlas
Message: Posted by: E.E. (May 11, 2016 02:20PM)
[quote]On May 11, 2016, Atlas wrote:
Wasn't Corinda British?

Best,

Atlas [/quote]

Yes I think he was from London.
Message: Posted by: mindmagic (May 12, 2016 03:16AM)
[quote]On May 11, 2016, Atlas wrote:
Wasn't Corinda British?

Best,

Atlas [/quote]

Definitely. At the time Thirteen Steps came out he had a shop in London's Tottenham Court Road.

Barry
Message: Posted by: mindacrossrhino (Jul 6, 2016 04:17PM)
...just out of interest have stumbled upon this same puzzle also described in "Scam School Academy" by Brian Brushwood.