(Close Window)
Topic: Wanted: Mentalism Mastermind Group
I'm relatively new to mentalism and would like to find a group of people (5 total, I think) that would like to get together weekly on the phone for about an hour and talk about what we're working on, ask for help with problems that have us stuck, etc. I was a member of such a group years ago (in a different industry) and it was really helpful for growth.

I don't perform right now, but am wanting to get there sooner rather than later. I performed (magic and associated stuff) full-time in my late teens and early 20s and since then the only performing I've done has been acting with community theatre groups. So I'm not new to performing, just new to the idea of performing as a mentalist.

I'd get together with people locally, but I'm stuck in Alaska where I think there are two people interested in mentalism, and we're 5.5 hours apart.

Anybody interested in something like this? Or maybe someone that's done this before and has some tips on helping it run smoothly?

Thanks.

Jay
Jay:

No matter where we live, most of do not find enough mentalists to constitute a group. I live in Lexington, KY, there are more than a half-million in our metropolitan area; three of us are mentalists, only two of us perform.

I know of two options for you.

1. Come to the next Mindvention this November. You should meet enough guys to network with through the year. Some guys do it by Skype

2. Find (or help start) an IBM or SAM club in your area. I am active in our IBM ring; we learn from each other, we field test effects at the club and get feedback,

George
Thanks for the suggestions, George. While a trip to Mindvention would be awesome, it's not in the cards for me this year. I helped start an Anchorage magic club (SAM Assembly 163) back in the 80s and it lasted a while, but I think it died in the last decade or so. Maybe I'll see who I can dig up...

Jay
Message: Posted by: Philemon Vanderbeck (Aug 20, 2017 03:56PM)