(Close Window)
Topic: Twenty one card trick
I am a semi pro magician who tutors students in Drawing and Painting and confidence building. I have found through working with a young student (who has very poor digital dexterity) that the Twenty One card trick has been of great help. This student loves magic as well as art. He has though, very low self esteem. Through him learning this trick (by getting the spectator to follow instructions as its self working) he is now learning to present himself as confident. He is realising that he is witty and that he interacts well with spectators. Also any understanding by the spectator of how the trick works is "thrown off track" because they have to listen to this young student offering instructions.
Great proof that a lot of good magic is in the presentation.
Dani DaOrtiz has a great presentation for the 21 card trick that does not depend on the secret for the 21 card trick. It uses a totally different principle. Anyone that knows the original will be totally fooled.
Interesting post, mysticmelville. Your student might be able to add a modicum of sleight of hand and perform some Marlo's handlings (shown here by Bill Malone). Easy and really fooling!

[youtube]xb8agQ2sGkA[/youtube]
@Marc
Do you know how the effect from DaOrtiz is called?
It's called "The 21 Card trick"

It's in the semiautomatic series:
http://www.penguinmagic.com/p/8376

Marc
Thanks Claudio,
very much appreciate you mentioning the above. I can see why this may be a helpful approach.

best, Dean
For another interesting and above all entertaining version of the 21-card-trick go to: https://www.lybrary.com/scripted-4-the-21-card-trick-p-852201.html It is free of charge!
Thanks for the suggestion. Going to be working with the student today. Great to have a few new avenues to follow.