The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Making Money. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Owen Thomas
View Profile
Special user
504 Posts

Profile of Owen Thomas
Ive been doing magic as a "hobby" for 5 years now. I do a couple of Card tricks, One sponge ball routine and the odd coin trick. Most poeple I do tricks to say that I should be making money. Honestly I don't think I'm that good and think that they are just being polite.

Sometimes I do magic for people in clubs just for a laugh. To try out different tricks I'm learnig. But I never want to get tips because I don't see myself as a Pro.

How do you become Pro? What skill level/effects do you need? Ive been thinking about doing Strolling Magic in Clubs and Bars or party's ? What are good books or dvd's to get. How do you make money doing this. Because it would be nice to get the odd tip here and there and after all, magic is a expensive hobby.
KyletheGreat
View Profile
Special user
Georgia
560 Posts

Profile of KyletheGreat
Accepting a tip has nothing to do with being pro...it simply means that somebody wants to reward you for something you have put an effort and for them. It would hurt nothing for you to accept tips if you wanted to.

There are no effects that make you pro... you make yourself a pro through presentation and skill...you must learn to act as a magician...always being ready for the unexpected "Hey...do a trick". It is best to learn how to play off and read crowds and situations...THere is a lot more to being professional also...which will be mentioned by some of the other guys.