The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Books, Pamphlets & Lecture Notes » » Fundamente ? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Nell
View Profile
Loyal user
Germany
265 Posts

Profile of Nell
In the May 2005 issue of Magic, there was an excerpt from a German book 'Fundamente' (p.82). As I am also a theatre professional, I am highly interested in this book. I was wondering if anyone has this book, has read it, or just knows if it is available in English? Unfortunately, my German is not quite up to par to read an entire book. Any thoughts/comments would be appreciated.
"A trick may be very good...but...the illusionist must be better than the trick." -René Lavand
Steven Steele
View Profile
Chief of Staff
1868 Posts

Profile of Steven Steele
Nell,

First let me say, you're the first Nell I have ever met outside of my Aunt who was born in the 20's. I didn't think anybody else was named that...it was her middle name and the one she preferred. Anyway, I wasn't sure if you had ever met another Nell, but thought you might find it interesting that there is at least ONE other person...although she has passed on, so you may, in fact, be the only one.

In any event, I went on a search for your book and couldn't find it in English at all. However, if you google the the title, "Fundamente, Die Kunst Zauberei in Szene zu setzen" (Foundations to set the art of magic to scenes)and ask google to translate the page, you can get a pretty good description at some of the sites (google doesn't translate every site the same or perfectly, but it will give you an idea) of what is in the book.

And if you notice I spelled Zauberei with a Z and not an S as found in MAGIC as the Z is the correct spelling.

It looks like an interesting book, but my German is largely unused (and therefore really rusty).
Coram Deo
Nell
View Profile
Loyal user
Germany
265 Posts

Profile of Nell