The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Who has the best Scotch and Soda? (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2~3~4
trevelyan
View Profile
New user
38 Posts

Profile of trevelyan
I have had many different Scotch and Soda sets over the years and I found that the Johnson set has the best cut and fit.
timski523
View Profile
Loyal user
Bristol, England
226 Posts

Profile of timski523
Hi I'm a newbie here, love this forum, I have spent to long looking and not taking part, also to long on forums not as good as this one, also where people seem to be a bit'unhelpfull' snotty, rude etc. BUT not here!

I would like to say a big thankyou to Bill Palmer, after reading this post I emailed him and he was very helpfull and the link to S and S is great! so thanks I am praticing it now!

Tim
rsylvester
View Profile
Loyal user
Trying to learn to BP a duck in
269 Posts

Profile of rsylvester
I have a Johnson set that I bought a couple of years ago and it works great, so far. The gaffed piece fits together so well you can even hand it out for inspection afterwards. I'm afraid of spending it. But I'm going to keep an eye on it, because it sounds like it wears out and may need some gentle tapping. Great advice.

I also bought the Bobo book, because it has several routines in there, including silver and copper effects that don't use trick coins. I found a transformation routine that uses *regular* coins. I adapted it using the Johnson set to make the coins jump back and forth between hands. Using the Scotch and Soda set allows me to do more effects. Then I end up a silver and copper coin in each hand, finishing clean. Or you can make them all disappear at the end. The result is a whole routine and not just a single trick.

Note: you have to have a *real* copper coin. I noticed one didn't come with the set, as it used to. Luckily, my dealer had one.
majik_1
View Profile